About Us

The Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Cultural Academy (SHHKCA) is established by the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan.  It is founded based on 170 years of excellent foundation in education, especially in the preservation and promotion of Chinese Language and culture.  Supported by the Singapore Government, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong first announced the plans at the 2012 National Day Rally.   As  Singapore’s first Chinese Cultural Academy, it will focus on promoting Chinese Language and proactively grow and preserve the traditional arts.  


The Academy offers Chinese language, cultural and humanities programmes for toddlers, pre-schoolers, children, youths and adults.


About Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan


Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK) is a not-for-profit organisation established in 1840.  Her main objectives are to preserve and promote Chinese language and culture; advance the cause of education; and contribute to social service.  It manages 6 affiliated schools: Tao Nan School, Ai Tong School, Chongfu School, Nan Chiau Primary School, Nan Chiau High School and Kong Hwa School.  It also operates and manages the Arts and Cultural Troupe and formerly the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Dance Theatre (now known as the Singapore Chinese Dance Theatre).  The opening of the Cultural Academy marks a new milestone for SHHK.

Click here for more!

Our Mission

The SHHK Cultural Academy aims to:


  • Promote, teach and preserve Chinese Language as a living language that can be used in our daily lives;

  • Promote a holistic education, including an in-depth understanding of the Chinese culture;

  • Grow the Chinese traditional fine arts and performance arts and develop creative talents including production and arts management;

  • Instil keen interest and motivation for the learning of Chinese Language and Chinese culture amongst the young; and

  • Develop pedagogy for Chinese language and Chinese culture to complement mainstream schools.


Board of Directors



Mr Tan Cheng Gay


Executive Director

Mr Perng Peck Seng



Mr Chan Hock Keng



Mr Chua Kee Seng Thomas

Mr Tan Aik Hock

Mr Lee Swee Keng

Mr Pok Cheng Chong

Mr Ong Chong Hua

Mr Kuah Geok Lin James

Mr Loo Lip Giam

Mr Teo Cher Cheong James

Mr Tan Thiam Soon